Skip to content

The Splendid Blond Beast

January 20, 2014

The Splendid Blond Beast

That’s very nice, but I’m not blond.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jihane permalink
    January 22, 2014 2:16 pm

    Lol so funny

  2. tintobear permalink
    January 25, 2014 6:45 am

    This is actually related to one of your Hellogiggles posts, but I haven’t linked up to that through Facebook, and couldn’t see another way to comment there. So I’m just going to post this here instead, even though it’s totally unrelated.

    Came across this and thought you might like it:
    http://dictionary.reference.com/?sshow=british-slang-clone

    xx

    • January 25, 2014 3:16 pm

      Hahah this is great. It looks like I missed a couple (AKA all of the ones on this list). I never would’ve guessed muppet or pudding…

      Thanks for sharing! I wish HG didn’t require that you connect through FB. It’s very inconvenient sometimes. :/

  3. tintobear permalink
    January 25, 2014 3:48 pm

    No probs. I was so confused by biscuits and gravy when I went over to America. I think most for most of the other ones Americanisms have filtered over enough that I was aware of the double meaning, but that one was just confusing!
    Yeah, pudding is a synonym for dessert; but aside from that you also get black pudding which is like a sausage made with blood (you’ll see it in cooked breakfasts) and white pudding, which is without the blood, and fruit pudding which is suet and sultanas and stuff (lovely, but pretty stodgy).
    Muppet is one of my favourite words!!!
    xx

    • January 25, 2014 5:51 pm

      Hahah that’s an understandable confusion. Hold up. Blood? I’ve never had that before! You’ll have to teach me about other British dishes because I am completely oblivious.

      Muppet is a great word. While we’re on the topic, smitten is a fun word too, though it has nothing to do with Britain.

      • tintobear permalink
        January 27, 2014 6:00 am

        Smitten is a great word. As is canoodling.

        Blood, yeah. Similar to any other offal I guess – not wasting the animal. As I said, black pudding’s pretty standard in a full fry-up breakfast, but if you watch fancy cooking programmes like Masterchef they’ll have often have it in starters and things too.
        I’m Scottish so there’s probably a few traditional dishes here that wouldn’t be familiar to you. I’ll have a think. Haggis is the obvious one. xx

Leave a Reply

